Club News
  • No News reported.

About Club

About Club

Club Background

In 1988, the then District Governor, Dr. Laxmikant Bhojwani, appointed Rtn.PP.Bahri Malhotra as his Special Representative to start a new Rotary Club in the eastern part of the city.

Thus, the Rotary Club of Pune Riverside was chartered with 32 members. The Rotary Club of Pune Central not only sponsored this new club, but also allowed four of its members – Rtn.Ramesh Nawani, Rtn.Mukesh Malhotra, Rtn.Puneet Malhotra and Rtn.Kiran Bafna to join this new club.

25 glorious years later, as part of its Silver Jubilee celebrations, Rotary Club of Pune Riverside decided to sponsor a new club. In June 2013, it approached the incoming Governor Dr.Deepak Shikarpur with the proposal. DGE Dr.Deepak appointed Rtn.PP.Aroon Sareen as his Special Representative to start the new club and to service the needs of the community in the very fast growing eastern parts of the city.

The challenge given by DGE Dr.Deepak Shikarpur to GSR Aroon Sareen, was to start the club early in his year.  Eight other members joined the proposed new club. With the help of Rtns Niraj Mehta, Sudesh Hadke, R. C. Bajaj, Suresh Jethwani, PP Rajesh Jethmalani, Ashok Sadalkar, Col. Guru Kohli & Nari Karnani, the job became achievable.

The Rotary Club of Koregaon Park, Pune was chartered on 26th August 2013. The club had 26 high profile charter members. By 30th September 2013 the membership had grown to 32.

The Charter was ceremoniously presented on 11th September 2013 to Charter President RC Bajaj and GSR Aroon Sareen by DG Dr.Deepak Shikarpur, in the august presence of PRIP D.K.Lee , PRID Shekhar Mehta and PDG Dr. Mahesh Kotbagi.

The Charter nite was celebrated on 1st November 2013